On Saturday, April 28, 2018 – 10AM to 2PM local time, communities will team up with law enforcement to host the next National Prescription Drug Take-Back Day. You can call the Drug Enforcement Agency’s (DEA’s) Registration Call Center at 1-800-882-9539 or check the DEA’s website for collection sites in your area. The website will be continuously updated with new take-back locations.
Consumers may also continue to utilize the guidelines How to Dispose of Unused Medicines as posted by the FDA if they are not able to attend a scheduled Take-Back Day.
DEA began hosting National Prescription Drug Take-Back events in 2010. At the previous 14 Take-Back Day events, millions of pounds of unwanted, unneeded or expired medications were surrendered for safe and proper disposal.
At the last Take-Back Day in October 2017 over 5,300 sites spread across the nation collected unwanted medications totaling over 900,000 pounds (456 tons). The disposal service is free and anonymous for consumers, with no questions asked. Keep in mind that needles, sharps, asthma inhalers, mercury thermometers, iodine-containing medications, and illicit drugs (including marijuana which is still a schedule 1 drug under federal law) are not accepted at the drop box.
Opioid abuse is at epidemic levels in the U.S., and a top public health concern. The DEA’s “Take-Back” initiative is one of several strategies to reduce prescription drug abuse and diversion in the nation. Additional strategies include education of health care providers, patients, parents and youth; establishing prescription drug monitoring programs in all 50 states; and increased enforcement to address illicit methods of prescription drug diversion. In 2018, the U.S. government allotted $4.6 billion in the federal budget towards the expanding opioid crisis.
The DEA’s Take Back Day events provide an opportunity for Americans to prevent drug addiction and overdose deaths. To find a collection site near you, please click here.
http://www.clearyinsurance.com/wp-content/uploads/Cleary_Logo.jpg00Carol LaCombehttp://www.clearyinsurance.com/wp-content/uploads/Cleary_Logo.jpgCarol LaCombe2018-10-12 15:31:352018-10-12 15:31:35National Prescription Drug Take Back Day
There has been a change to the Massachusetts State Markings Regulation 540 CMR 2:22 (regulation text below) that will take effect on September 1, 2018 for all commercial motor vehicles that weigh 10,001 lbs. or more used in Intrastate commerce. The RMV changes could affect customers that are written on a Massachusetts Auto Policy class 30 such as plumbers, carpenters, electrician, etc.
The updated regulation affects the type and placement of vehicle markings and will also require any vehicle used in intrastate commerce to have a US DOT number. Affected vehicles include those that are:
Engaged in intrastate commerce having a gross vehicle weight rating or gross combination weight rating of 10,001 or more pounds; or
Used in the transportation of hazardous materials in a quantity requiring placarding; or
Designed to transport more than 15 passengers including the driver, used in intrastate commerce in Massachusetts.
(a) Effective until August 31, 2018. The owner of every motor truck used for the transportation of goods, wares or merchandise for hire, gain or reward, shall have the owner’s name marked on the truck, to be plainly visible from each side or from the front and rear of the vehicle, provided that motor trucks operated under a lease of more than 30 days shall display either the name of the owner or the lessee, and may display both. For the purpose of 540 CMR 2.22(1), motor truck shall mean any motor vehicle specially designed or equipped to transport personal property over the ways of the Commonwealth and which has a maximum load carrying capacity of over 2,000 lbs., and which is not a Private Passenger Motor Vehicle under 540 CMR 2.05. To the extent there is any conflict between 540 CMR 2.22 and any federal regulation pertaining to markings on commercial motor vehicles, the federal regulation shall control.
(b) Effective September 1, 2018. The owner of every motor truck used for the transportation of goods, wares or merchandise for hire, gain or reward, shall have the owner’s name marked on the truck, to be plainly visible from each side, be in permanent letters that contrast sharply in color with the background on which the letters are placed; be readily legible during daylight hours from a distance of 50 feet while the motor truck is stationary; and be kept and maintained in a manner that retains the legibility required by 540 CMR 2.22(1)(b), provided that motor trucks owned or controlled by a farmer and used to transport agricultural products, farm machinery, and/or farm supplies to or from the farmer’s farm; not used in the operation of a common or contract carrier, and used within 150 air miles of the farmer’s farm need not be so marked; and motor trucks operated under a lease of more than 30 days shall display either the name of the owner or the lessee, and may display both. For the purpose of 540 CMR 2.22(1), Motor Truck shall mean any motor vehicle specially designed or equipped to transport personal property over the ways of the Commonwealth and which has a maximum load carrying capacity of between 2,000 lbs. and 10,000 lbs. and which is not a Private Passenger Motor Vehicle under 540 CMR 2.05. To the extent there is any conflict between 540 CMR 2.22 and any federal regulation pertaining to markings on commercial motor vehicles, the federal regulation shall control.
(2) U.S. DOT Number Assignment for Intrastate Carriers. Effective September 1, 2018, every motor vehicle engaged in intrastate commerce in Massachusetts having a gross vehicle weight rating or gross combination weight rating of 10,001 or more lbs.; and every motor vehicle regardless of weight, engaged in intrastate commerce in Massachusetts and used in the transportation of hazardous materials in a quantity requiring placarding; and every motor vehicle designed to transport more than 15 passengers, including the driver, used in intrastate commerce in Massachusetts must be permanently marked with a USDOT number assigned in a manner conforming to the provisions of 49 CFR 390.21.
(3) Penalty. The penalty for a violation of 540 CMR 2.22 is set forth in M.G.L. c. 90, § 20.
http://www.clearyinsurance.com/wp-content/uploads/Cleary_Logo.jpg00Carol LaCombehttp://www.clearyinsurance.com/wp-content/uploads/Cleary_Logo.jpgCarol LaCombe2018-06-29 11:12:382018-06-29 14:59:47RMV Changes to the MA State Markings Regulation 540 CMR 2:22
As the weather warms up, many recreational boaters head to lake, river, or the ocean to fish, waterski, cruise, and relax onboard a boat, yacht or other personal watercraft. With nearly 12 million registered recreational boats in the U.S.*, it’s no wonder the waterways are a popular place to go. Before you head out with friends and family, take note of a few important safety tips.1. Make sure everyone wears a life jacket.
Victims drowned in approximately 80% of fatal boating accidents. Of those, 83% were not wearing a life jacket. Insist that your crew and guests all wear a life jacket that fits them well. This can help them stay afloat in rough waters, protect them against hypothermia, and in some cases, can keep their head above water.
2. Use the right kind of life jackets for the situation.
Boats 16 feet and longer must be equipped with one Type I, II, III, or V personal floatation device (PFD) plus one Type IV throwable device. Boats that are 16 feet or less must have one Type I, II, III or V PFD for each person aboard. All boats must be equipped with one Type I, II, III, or V personal floatation device for each person aboard. Boats 16 feet and longer must also be equipped with a Type IV throwable device. All PFDs should be in good condition and have a Coast Guard Approval Number.
Type I PFDs are often called off-shore life jackets. They provide the most buoyancy and are effective in all waters, especially open, rough, or remote waters where rescue may be delayed. They are designed to turn most unconscious wearers to a face-up position in the water.
Type II PFDs are near-shore buoyancy vests. They are intended for calm, inland water or waters where there is a good chance of quick rescue.
Type III PFDs are also called floatation aids. They are good for calm, inland water, similar to Type II.
Type IV PFDs are designed to be thrown to a person in the water and grasped and held by the user until rescued.
Type V PFDs are special use devices. They may be carried instead of other PFDs if used in accordance with the approved conditions designated on the label. They may be inflatable vests, deck suits, work vests, board sailing vests or hybrid PFDs.
3. Never drink alcohol and go boating.
Alcohol use is a leading contributor to fatal boating accidents, causing approximately 15% of the deaths each year. Stay sharp when you’re on the water by leaving the alcohol on dry land.
4. Recreational boaters should take a boating safety course.
Only 13% of the boating deaths occurred on vessels where the operator had received a nationally approved boating safety education certificate. You may even qualify for a reduced insurance rate if you complete a safety course. Contact your local Coast Guard Auxiliary, U.S. Power Squadron chapter or visit uscgboating.org for details.
5. Put down the cell phone.
One of the top five contributing factors to boating accidents is inattention. Just like distracted driving on our highways, talking, texting, and other use of cell phones while boating is a growing problem on the water. Don’t contribute to this problem. Keep your eyes on the water ahead and around you.
6. Drive at a safe speed and follow all boating safety and navigational rules.
Excessive speed and improper lookout are two of the top contributing factors to boating accidents. Make sure you understand the local rules and laws of the waterway and follow them closely. Take note of visibility, traffic density, and proximity to navigational hazards such as shoals, rocks, or floating objects.
7. Check the weather forecast and be prepared for it to change.
A calm day can quickly turn ugly on the water. There were 41 deaths in 2016 attributed to weather conditions. Keep an eye out for changing weather conditions and stay on top of the forecast while boating.
8. Take action before a storm hits.
Storm and hurricane forecasts and warnings are issued by the National Hurricane Center. Boaters can get information from VHF marine radios, commercial radios and television stations and newspapers. As a boater, you need to be aware of the types of advisories and take action before a storm hits. Warnings range from small craft advisories, with winds of 18 knots or less, up to hurricane warnings with winds of 74 miles per hour (64 knots) or greater.
9. Register for a free Maritime Mobile Service Identity (MMSI) number and have a VHF radio equipped with Digital Selective Calling (DSC) installed and connected to your GPS.
When in coastal and inshore waters, these preparations can help take the search out of search and rescue. DSC allows the VHF radio to transfer information digitally, and to instantly send a digital distress alert, which includes your exact position, to the Coast Guard upon activation of the emergency button. Part of the alert is the MMSI number, which will identify your vessel automatically.
10. Use a carbon monoxide detector.
All internal combustion engines emit carbon monoxide, a poisonous gas that can make you sick in seconds and kill in minutes. Remember, you cannot see, smell, or taste CO, so know the symptoms (similar to seasickness or alcohol intoxication).
11. File a float plan.
The U.S. Coast Guard recommends that you always tell a friend or family member where you plan to go and when you’ll be back. That way, the proper officials can be notified if you don’t return when expected.
12. Get a free Vessel Safety Check.
Boats are complex machines and need regular maintenance to stay running smoothly and safely. The U.S. Coast Guard Auxiliary and U.S. Power Squadron offer Vessel Safety Checks at no cost, so let their certified vessel examiners check your boat’s equipment and provide you with safety information before you go out on the water. Check with your marina or yacht club to find one in your area.
http://www.clearyinsurance.com/wp-content/uploads/Cleary_Logo.jpg00Carol LaCombehttp://www.clearyinsurance.com/wp-content/uploads/Cleary_Logo.jpgCarol LaCombe2018-06-29 10:23:212018-06-29 15:00:3912 Safety Tips for Recreational Boaters